Regulations – Higher Doctorates

In addition to the degree of Doctor of Philosophy, the University offers higher doctorates in Engineering (DEng), Laws (LLD), Literature (LittD), and Science (DSc). These are the highest academic awards offered by the University and are awarded to graduates or close affiliates of the University of Auckland who have published original work that has, over an extensive period of time, given them authoritative standing and international eminence in their respective field. The higher doctorate is thus to be seen as recognition of real distinction in one of these areas of study. It is awarded rarely and only after rigorous examination of a substantial and significant corpus of material. A person wishing to become a candidate for a higher doctorate should refer to the Guidelines for Candidates of Higher Doctorates.